Google Play Music - Android

Google Play Music All Access launches in Ukraine

The expansion of Google Play Music All Access has continued in Europe, with Ukraine the latest country to be given access to the subscription service. Google Play Music All Access in now available in a total of 24 European countries.

Although initially cagey over the number of songs available on the service, Google has now revealed that there are around 20 million tracks included. These can all be accessed for a flat monthly fee, following the business models of rivals such as Spotify and Deezer.

For some time Spotify has not publicly stated how many tracks are available on its service, but Deezer boats a collection of 30 million songs [PDF link], which it claims is larger than the catalogue of any other music streaming service.

Comparing track numbers like-for-like is not as straightforward as it may seem, however. Music subscription services are often not able to make specific tracks available in some territories due to local licensing issues.

In addition, music streaming services tend to contain a large number of karaoke versions of original songs, which some feel artificially inflate overall catalogue sizes.

As far as Google Play Music All Access’ European availability is concerned, it is now available in Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

In addition to the expansion within Europe, Google Play Music All Access is also available in a greater number of countries across the Americas. The new addition are Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica and Peru.